Weekly Training Update

And we’re back at Sunday evening already! How did that happen??

This weekend was a pretty low-key one for me; the weather was gorgeous, but I was feeling a little under the weather after my flu shot earlier this week (still better than catching the actual flu), so we took it easy and got a lot done around the house. Wednesday is my BIRTHDAY!!!!, so next weekend I have a lot going on along with the Runyon 5k at Yankee Stadium on Sunday.

In addition to putting away 47,000 loads of laundry today, I did some serious food prep:

11.8 bars

  • These delicious homemade energy bars for pre-workout this week. I subbed in some white chocolate chips, walnuts, and craisins because that’s what I had in the cabinets;
  • Smitten Kitchen’s marsala pasta bake, to pop in the oven tomorrow night after work and a long run;

11.8 squash

  • Roasted butternut squash, with a splash of balsalmic vinegar (as I reheat each portion, I top with crumbled goat cheese and craisins); and
  • PBF’s pumpkin banana oatmeal, for a hearty breakfast since temps are going to drop below 70 this week (THE HORROR!!).

When I spend a portion of my Sunday prepping for the week ahead, it makes Monday morning SO MUCH EASIER. Just knowing I already have all three meals for tomorrow ready to go will make getting out of bed tomorrow slightly less painful.

In typical Sunday evening fashion, here’s what last week’s workouts looked like:

Monday: 2.5 mile run + 60 minute yoga class

Tuesday: 0.4 mile walk around the block (Piling on the Miles!)

Wednesday: 12×400 on the tready

Thursday: 1 mile on the elliptical + planks

Friday: 4×400 on the tready

Sunday: housework housework housework

It’s a good week when you only have one day without a workout!

Now I’m off to curl up in my bed and read You Should Have Known by Jean Hanff Korelitz.  I just started it the other night, but am interested to get into it.  I read like a maniac on our honeymoon, but haven’t really read much since we’ve been home.  Time to get back to #bookworm status!

Have a great week, Joggers!

One thought on “Weekly Training Update

Leave a Reply

