Goal Race Update

Good evening Joggers! I’m popping in quickly to get you all up to speed on how my 5k went today.

This morning I ran the Damon Runyon 5k at Yankee Stadium, and I had initially set a goal of running a sub-30 minute 5k. While the official results haven’t been posted yet, I don’t think my chip time will be less than 30 minutes. I used Runkeeper to track my run, and my unofficial time was 34:22. Here’s why I’m still really happy with how I ran today, and really proud of my performance:

  1. I did a crappy job of running the tangents and used up an extra .22 miles dodging walkers and kids.  So, I ran 3.32 miles in 34:22, which is an average pace of 10:21.
  2. This is the first race I ran the entire time, without taking any walk breaks.
  3.  This race course requiress you to climb 107 stairs throughout the race.  That is hard, and takes up more time.
  4. This is the first race I’ve actually run for time (as opposed to the goal being “Just Don’t Die”).
  5. I ran my first mile in 8:14.  I’ve never run a mile that fast before.

I’ll have a full race re-cap later this week, but wanted to keep you all up to date on how things went. I’m off to go mourn the last-minute loss of the Giants to the Patriots.  The GMen are not making it easy for the fans this year, that’s for sure.

Wishing you all a great start to the week,

JwJ

Leave a Reply

