On New Year’s Resolutions

Happy New Year, Joggers! I hope this holiday season was full of fun, love, peace, and whatever else makes you happy! I had a great Christmas and New Year’s, and once again I’m shocked it’s all over already. I’m already dreading having to pack up all the Christmas decorations!

One of my new favorites.

1.1 tiffanyornament

My holidays were FULL of good eats. Hence why I’m making a HUGE effort to clean up my diet from today onward.

It’s not Christmas without these babies.

1.1 cinnamonbuns

Sausage bread. Fresh out of the oven. Holy cow.

1.1 sausage bread

Let’s talk about what everybody else is talking about today- New Year’s Resolutions. I’ll be honest- I’m not a fan of ‘em. I think they’re a great way to set yourself up for failure. I think I read a statistic where something like only 8% of people who make resolutions stick to them by December 31st. So instead of making resolutions, I decided to set a goal in each of the important areas of my life: personal, professional, financial, and fitness. I’ll spare you three of the four (because one is personal and I’m pretty sure you’d be bored by the other two), but my main fitness goal this year is all about PRs. I want to PR in the 5k, 10k, and half-marathon. A little lofty? Maybe. But I think I can pull it off. I started a new half-marathon training cycle a few weeks ago, and am feeling pretty good so far. I got super spoiled last month with freakishly warm temperatures, so I was able to most of my running outside. I already have my 10k and half-marathon goal races in mind, but am still thinking about which 5k to choose.

I treated myself to some new gear during Under Armour’s after-Christmas sale. Those Perfect Pace shorts are EVERYTHING.

1.1 underarmour

Now, I’m settled in on the couch doing what I do best- relaxing and watching Netflix.

Note the lack of working lights on the lower one-third of the tree. I’ve had this tree since college, and it’s finally seen its last Christmas.

1.1 netflix

Happy New Year! I wish you all everything your heart desires in 2016. It’s going to be a great year!

Xo, Jess

Question of the day: What are you most looking forward to in 2016?

2 thoughts on “On New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Reply

